The 20.7-kilometre ‘Race to the Clouds’ featured a number of other privately entered 911 cars alongside the popular single-make class created by Porsche for the 718 Cayman GT4.

With temperatures close to freezing and the presence of both snow and fog near the summit, race organisers opted to move the finish line to the end of the middle sector, just prior to the ‘Devil’s Playground’ at approximately 3,856 metres. The final timing beacons are normally some 457 m higher and the last-minute change promised to play to the strengths of the turbocharged 911 cars that entered.

Champion racing and Romain Dumas

Sure enough, the fearless Dumas set an incredible early time of 6:31.914 minutes, good enough not only to secure the Time Attack 1 class win but also to claim second in the overall standings, losing out only to a purpose built prototype. Fellow GT2 driver and Pikes Peak veteran David Donohue made his run late in the day and took an impressive third place in increasingly difficult conditions.

Raphael Astier - Porsche 911 GT3 Cup Turbo Cup

There was more good news to come for Porsche with an Open class win for Raphael Astier who clocked a superb 6:36.867 aboard his modified 911 GT3 Cup car. The experienced Frenchman’s time in his extensively modified and turbocharged racer was also good enough for fifth place overall.

Tanner Foust - Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 Clubsport

The single make ‘Porsche Pikes Peak Trophy by Yokohama’ division saw just four Cayman GT4 cars in the running following an incident in practice that eliminated local favourite George Hess. The class was ultimately won by TV presenter and racing driver Tanner Foust, who managed a record time of 7:28.269 on debut. He was followed over the line by Cam Ingram, son of famous Porsche collector Bob Ingram in second, 2020 Rookie of the Year Kathryn Mead in third and Arizona-based amateur Chas Wirken in fourth.

“This year Pikes Peak was all about overcoming challenges,” says Erik Skirmants, Event Manager, Pikes Peak, Porsche Motorsport North America. “Romain, Raphael and Tanner did exceptional jobs adapting and putting themselves in the right place for victory. We look forward to returning for the 100th running in 2022 with our Porsche Pikes Peak Trophy by Yokohama and the very best privateer Porsche hill climb efforts in the world.”


Related Content