Michael Ammermüller, Erwin Kickmaier, Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, round 10, Mexico, 2018, Porsche AG
The old and new champion: Michael Ammermüller

Ammermüller was overjoyed: “Even if it looked easy today, I was tense to the last lap. I still can’t believe I’ve won the title for the second time straight. The most important thing is to earn as many points as possible at every race. And that’s what I did at both races this weekend.” The 32-year-old is only the fifth driver after Patrick Huisman, Richard Westbrook, Jeroen Bleekemolen and René Rast to defend his championship title in the international one-make cup.

Preining finished on fourth place. “Had I not received the time penalty I could have done better, but I have to live with fourth place. Still, I fought to the end for the championship. It was a thrilling season for me,” said Preining. On the 4.304-kilometre racetrack, Larry ten Voorde (NL/Team Project 1) crossed the finish line as the best rookie in fifth place ahead of Zaid Ashkanani (MRS GT-Racing) from Kuwait. Seventh went to the Frenchman Florian Latorre (martinet by ALMERAS), with Mattia Drudi (I/Dinamic Motorsport) securing eighth. First in the ProAm classification was Nicolas Misslin (Pierre martinet by ALMERAS). Behind the Frenchman came Mark Radcliffe (GB/IDL Racing) and Roar Lindland (N/Lechner Racing Middle East).

In the championship, Ammermüller is first with 153 points. Yelloly takes home the vice-championship with 146 points. Third overall behind the 27-year-old is Preining. The youngster climbed to the top step of the podium four times this season – more than any other driver – and earned 135 points. The title in the rookie classification goes to Latorre with 90 points. Lindland is the champion of the ProAm class. From ten rounds, the Norwegian collected 174 points. The title of the team classification was already decided on Saturday: Achieving 288 points over the season, BWT Lechner Racing celebrated first place.

Michael Ammermüller, Julien Andlauer und Thomas Preining, Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup, round 9, Mexico, 2018, Porsche AG
Michael Ammermüller, Julien Andlauer and Thomas Preining

Preining saw the flag in third place. While the Austrian was battling for second, his rivals gradually caught up. Preining drove a flawless race to secure his fifth podium finish of the season. “That was a crazy race with lots of duels. I just couldn’t find a way past Michael, so I had to settle for third place,” said 20-year-old Preining. Yelloly crossed the finish line in fourth place. The Briton put in a spirited duel against his Dutch teammate Jaap van Lagen. In the penultimate lap, Yelloly made the decisive move and overtook him. Van Lagen finished the race in fifth position.

Sixth place went to Florian Latorre (martinet by ALMERAS) making the Frenchman the best rookie on the 4.304 kilometre circuit. Ten Voorde saw the chequered flag in seventh ahead of Italy’s Mattia Drudi (Dinamic Motorsport). Victory in the ProAm classification went to Roar Lindland (N/Lechner Racing Middle East) ahead of Nicolas Misslin (F/Pierre martinet by ALMERAS) and Mark Radcliffe (GB/IDL Racing).

In the team classification, the championship title is already decided: Before the last round, BWT Lechner Racing holds an unassailable lead. The team owned by Walter Lechner earned 258 points from the first nine rounds. The title fight in the rookie classification is still open. First in the standings is Latorre with an eleven-point lead over ten Voorde. The decision in the ProAm class will also fall on Sunday: Lindland leads with seven wins and with an eight-point gap to Misslin.

Related Content