Porsche has been awarded for record in Le Mans

The Jury Special Grand Prize at this year’s Festival Automobile International has been attributed to Porsche for its record of 18 overall victories in Le Mans. To celebrate this award, six Le Mans winning drivers were gathered together.

The awards ceremony of the 32th Festival International Automobile was a very special moment for Porsche. The brand won the "Jury Special Grand Prize" delivered by a jury composed of experts in design, art, culture, motorsport and media for its success story in Le Mans. Since the first ever overall victory in 1970, Porsche has won the twice-around-the-clock race 18 times! Felix Bräutigam, Porsche AG director region Europe, received the "Grand Prize" surrounded by six drivers who have succeeded in Le Mans with Porsche: Hans Herrmann (1970), Hans-Joachim Stuck (1986/1987), Gijs van Lennep (1971/1976), Yannick Dalmas (1994), Stéphane Ortelli (1998) and Romain Dumas (2016).

Standing in front of the passionate audience of 600 leading peronnalities in the French automotive industry, Felix Bräutigam claimed: "Turbo technology, aerodynamic improvements,  dual-clutch transmissions, and now hybrid systems… innovation has always been the key to our many successes in Le Mans. Thanks to our drivers, who a genuine heroes, we managed to achieve this outstanding record at the 24H of Le Mans." 

For the event, Porsche has also brought together two iconic racing cars: the 917 K N°23, which brought home the first win in 1970, and the 919 hybrid who has joined the Porsche’s Le Mans hall of fame in 2016. Open to the public from 1th february to 5th, the Festival Automobile International gives a unique opportunity to see two of the most famous racing cars in the world.

Porsche has been awarded for its record of 18 overall victories in Le Mans

Ähnliche Artikel

Most popular

  1. With Mark Webber in Le Mans
  2. New 911 GT3 RS sets a lap time of 6:56.4 minutes through the ‘Green Hell’
  3. Maria Sharapova and Mark Webber in a 911 GT2 RS
  4. Porsche Sound Night
  5. Sound Night 2016

Most shared

  1. Now official: Porsche’s entry into Formula E
  2. Victory and third place for Porsche at Sebring
  3. Strong Porsche contingent at anniversary race in Florida
  4. Best 911 RSR on third grid row
  5. Two class wins for Porsche
Social Media
Porsche #digital

Digitisation leads to new products, services and business portfolios.

Le Mans

Porsche is part of Le Mans, Le Mans is part of Porsche. History and presence.

Porsche Consulting

How management consultants make clients into the Porsche of their branch.


A look behind the scenes of the Porsche Tennis Grand Prix – and more.

Myth 911

For five decades, the 911 has been viewed as iconic automobile.


The spectacular car museum brings Porsche history to life.

Arrow Right
Arrow Left