Le Mans legend palpable in the one-make cup race

Last weekend’s Porsche Carrera Cup Le Mans not only captivated competitors but also TV viewers from Eurosport and Sport1. In a spectacular race, the Dutchman Larry ten Voorde came out on top against 52 rivals and climbed to the top of the official Circuit des 24 Heures du Mans podium alongside Leon Köhler and Ayhancan Güven in second and third.

Ten Voorde (Nebulus Racing by Huber) also received the trophy as the best driver in the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland. Porsche Junior Güven (Turkey/Martinet by Alméras) was awarded an additional trophy as the most successful driver in the Porsche Carrera Cup France.

Four international guest drivers took part in the joint event of the German and French one-make cup series. Representing the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux, Loek Hartog (Netherlands/Bas Koeten Racing) made a rocket start and swept into the lead. He held the top spot for five laps, before relinquishing the lead to his pursuers. Hartog crossed the finish line in fourth place but subsequently received a 30-second penalty for colliding with Porsche Junior Jaxon Evans (New Zealand/BWT Lechner Racing). Evans had to bury his chances of a podium result in the gravel trap. Seventeen-year-old Hartog ultimately came 29th in the final rankings.

Larry ten Voorde, Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland, Round 1, Race, Le Mans, 2020, Porsche AG
Larry ten Voorde came out on top against 52 rivals and climbed to the top of the official Circuit des 24 Heures du Mans podium.

Alessio Picariello tackled the race for Porsche Carrera Cup Asia. The Belgian concluded the 45-minute race on position eight. Dutchman Max van Splunteren contested the event as a representative of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. His vehicle was fielded by Porsche AG in recognition of his performance as the best rookie in the international one-make cup run as support to Formula 1. After nine laps, he finished 18th in the overall standings.

Hollywood star Michael Fassbender competed as the official VIP driver. The famous actor drove a Porsche 911 GT3 Cup campaigned by Porsche AG and crossed the finish line in 38th place in the 53-strong field. The goal of the actor, who has been nominated for an Oscar several times, is to contest the 24 Hours of Le Mans in a Porsche 911 RSR. “I found it exciting to drive here for the first time. It rained before the race, so the track was really slippery. I spun on the formation lap, but that was a wake-up call for the race. I simply need a lot of track time to realise my dream of competing here with Porsche next year.”

Drivers from 14 countries grabbed the chance to race their cars on the legendary Le Mans circuit. For ten Voorde and van Splunteren, the weekend was particularly busy. The pair also contested the 24-hour race in the cockpit of a Porsche 911 RSR run by Porsche customer teams. Driving for the Project 1 customer squad, the newly crowned Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup champion ten Voorde finished fourth in the GTE-Am class. Supercup rookie champion van Splunteren drove an RSR fielded by Proton Competition and took the GTE-Am-class flag in twelfth place.

“The Porsche Carrera Cup Le Mans was a very special event for everyone involved. We witnessed an action-packed race with many duels and the special atmosphere of this venerable racetrack was palpable. The strong line-up of 53 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup cars underlines the appeal of the one-make cup concept,” says Oliver Köppen, Manager Sales Europe South at Porsche Motorsport.

Fans can watch a rerun of the 45-minute Porsche Carrera Cup Le Mans race on the YouTube channel of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland or Porsche France.

Overall result Porsche Carrera Cup Le Mans

1. Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Nebulus Racing by Huber)
2. Leon Köhler (Germany/T3/HRT Motorsport)
3. Ayhancan Güven (Turkey/Martinet by Alméras)
4. Laurin Heinrich (Germany/T3/HRT Motorsport)
5. Adam Eteki (France/CLRT)
6. Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer (France/BWT Lechner Racing)
7. Marvin Klein (France/Martinet by Alméras)
8. Alessio Picariello (Belgium/Team Carrera Cup Asia)
9. Jaden Conwright (USA/Dinamic Motorsport)
10. Julian Hanses (Germany/Förch Racing)

Related Content