New season kicks off with 13 teams and a capacity grid

Packed grids and gripping sprint races have distinguished the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland for more than 30 years. This year, fans of the one-make cup can once again look forward to a thrilling season: 32 drivers with 13 teams have taken up the challenge and will pit themselves against each other at eight doubleheader events. 

The first two of the 16 races will be held as part of the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) support programme at Belgium’s Spa-Francorchamps (5 to 7 May). Six race weekends are contested alongside the ADAC GT Masters with one event at the DTM.

“For the 33rd season of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland, we’ve again managed to put together an attractive package. Races held as support to the three top series FIA WEC, ADAC GT Masters and the DTM guarantee exciting motorsport on fantastic racetracks. Personally, I can’t wait to see the 32 cars hurtle through the famous Eau Rouge at the opening round in Spa-Francorchamps,” says Alexander Pollich, CEO of Porsche Deutschland GmbH.

Alexander Pollich, CEO of Porsche Deutschland GmbH, 2021, Porsche AG
Alexander Pollich, CEO of Porsche Deutschland GmbH.

In the past six years, the fight for the championship crown of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland went down to the wire at the finale – and this season promises to be another enthralling battle for the title. Hot favourites are the two-time champion and title defender Larry ten Voorde (Netherlands/Team GP Elite) as well as Porsche Junior Laurin Heinrich (Germany/SSR Huber Racing). Heinrich’s teammate and fellow countryman Michael Ammermüller is another top contender for the crown. The 36-year-old returns to the one-make cup as the three-time champion of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup (2017-2019) and 2020 ADAC GT Masters titleholder. Ammermüller last contested the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland in 2019 and has won a total of 17 races.

Two new squads will join the series, HP Racing International and ID Racing. GP Elite returns this year to defend its drivers’ and team titles. The outfit from the Netherlands, the Swiss team Fach Auto Tech and Huber Racing are also on the entry list for the German Carrera Cup and the international Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup. Moreover, Allied-Racing, the Black Falcon Team Textar, CarTech Motorsport by Nigrin, HRT Performance and IronForce Racing by Phoenix will also tackle the German one-make cup. As several teams have registered two separate outfits, a total of 13 different squads will tackle the series.

Great mix of experienced one-make cup teams and interesting newcomers

“The starter list consists of a great mix of experienced one-make cup teams and interesting newcomers. This is typical of the Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland and, with such a strong field, we’ll witness some action-packed racing to the last race. Moreover, this year we’re delighted to support eight young racing drivers in the Talent Pool programme on their path to a professional career,” says Bastian Schramm, Director Marketing Porsche Deutschland GmbH. Since 2018, the one-make cup has run a comprehensive training initiative with the Talent Pool and has thus established itself as a flourishing youth development series. Last year, 20-year-old Laurin Heinrich advanced from the Talent Pool into the Porsche Junior Programme. Prior to this, the youngster from Würzburg had contested the Porsche Sports Cup Deutschland.

Laurin Heinrich, Porsche-Junior, 2021, Porsche AG
Laurin Heinrich

All eight race weekends include two sprint races over 30 minutes plus an extra lap. With the 510 PS Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, the latest Cup vehicle based on the 992 generation will be fielded again this season. Fans can find the latest Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland news in the Porsche Motorsport Hub and on the social media channels of the one-make cup on InstagramFacebook and Twitter.

2022 Porsche Carrera Cup Deutschland racing calendar

11.04-12.04.2022: Nürburgring (Test and media day)
05.05-07.05.2022: Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (FIA WEC), Races 1+2
20.05-22.05.2022: Red Bull Ring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 3+4
17.06-19.06.2022: Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari Imola (DTM), Races 5+6
24.06-26.06.2022: Circuit Zandvoort (ADAC GT Masters), Races 7+8
05.08-07.08.2022: Nürburgring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 9+10
19.08-21.08.2022: Lausitzring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 11+12
23.09-25.09.2022: Sachsenring (ADAC GT Masters), Races 13+14
21.10-23.10.2022: Hockenheim (ADAC GT Masters), Races 15+16

Related Content