The Nürburgring, as one of the world’s most demanding and picturesque racetracks, enjoys a cult status amongst fans and drivers. This year’s 24-hour race is contested on the storied circuit on 22/23 June. With 200,000 visitors, the event is regarded as one of the largest international motor racing events. The Eifel classic runs over a 25.378-kilometre combination of the Grand Prix circuit and the Nordschleife (northern loop). The fact that the race is contested by professional racers through to club sport drivers makes the 24-hour marathon particularly appealing. And the fans who party day and night at the track also add to the event’s exciting atmosphere.

Legendary Nordschleife

The infamous Nordschleife, in particular, which was given the intimidating name “Green Hell” by three-time Formula One World Champ Jackie Stewart, poses a real challenge for drivers with its rollercoaster layout, changing track surfaces and many corners and crests. Up to 800 drivers travel to the 24-hour classic each year to helm around 200 vehicles in the fight for the prestigious trophy over 24 hours.

Manthey Racing triumphs six times

For the sports car manufacturer from Stuttgart-Zuffenhausen, the Nürburgring 24-hour race is a real success story. In 1976, Fritz Müller, Herbert Hechler and Karl-Heinz Quirin brought home Porsche’s first overall victory with a Porsche 911 Carrera. From 2006 to 2009, the Manthey-Racing team won the Eifel classic four times in a row with the Porsche 911. In 2011, Manthey-Racing again climbed to the top of the podium. The fact that Porsche works driver Timo Bernhard was at the steering wheel for all five triumphs is a particularly impressive feat. In 2018, Manthey-Racing celebrated another victory: The Porsche 911 GT3 R with the starting number 912 won the 24-hour marathon in the Eifel after a gripping final phase. The 911 campaigned by the Manthey-Racing squad and driven by Patrick Pilet, Frédéric Makowiecki and Nick Tandy snatched the lead with 70 minutes to go and safely brought home the laurels. This handed Porsche the twelfth success at the legendary long-distance classic.

Eight Porsche 911 GT3 R contest the Eifel classic

At the 47th running of Germany’s most popular automobile race, the Manthey-Racing team will field two 2019-generation Porsche 911 GT3 R racers. Last year’s winners Lietz, Makowiecki, Pilet and Tandy aim to defend their title. Sharing the cockpit of the sister car are the works drivers Earl Bamber, Michael Christensen, Kévin Estre and Laurens Vanthoor. Porsche customer squads will receive support at their Eifel campaign with the provision of drivers from the factory squad of the sports car manufacturer from Weissach.

Porsche’s overall wins at the Nürburgring

The 2019 race

Die Rennstrecke

Nürburgring 24 Hours
Circuit Nürburgring, Nordschleife
Circuit length: 25.378 km
Date: 15.–16.06.2019
Race duration: 24 hours